CJD News

2013 CJD Ranch Rodeo Results

2013 CJD RANCH RODEO RESULTS   GOAT ROPING             Kade Kilgore and Hadley Miller EVENT WINNERS TEAM BRANDING                                           Yost Quarter Horses TEAM PENNING                                               McCormack Ranch TEAM ROPING                                                 Yost Ranch RIBBON ROPING                                              Fence Creek Ranch,  Yost Ranch . FIRST IN AVERAGE                                   Yost Ranch (115pts)    $1150.00 SECOND IN AVERAGE                             Quail Run Ranch   (90pts)  $690.00 THIRD IN...

Jerry Winegar named 2013 CJD Grand Marshall

By Diane Witherrite ~ I would like to share with you a little about a friend of mine and also one of my Dad’s best friends. He is one of those behind the scene kind of guys. The last 33 years he has volunteered his time to...

Specialty Act: John Payne aka The One Arm Bandit

John S. Payne, twelve time Professional Rodeo Cowboy Association (PRCA) “Specialty Act of the Year”, and CJD’s Specialty Act in 2009, is returning to Joseph for the 68th Annual Chief Joseph Days.

The notorious One Arm Bandit, was born to a rancher in the oil rich town of Shidler, Oklahoma on April 19, 1953.

jimmy bivens LIVE at 68th Chief Joseph Days Coronation

The word is out….

April 27, 2013,  68th Chief Joseph Days Coronation


The jimmy bivens Band, long time Wallowa County favorites, are going to be performing live at this year’s Chief Joseph Days Coronation following coronation of CJD’s 68th Queen.

Jimmy Bivens Sample

It’s Country/Americana Rock-A-Billy Blues at its best!

jimmy bivens recorded his first solo Album “Tell the Story” in Nashville in 2005. For more info on jimmi bivens visit his website.

Tickets for the Coronation Dinner are $27 (includes cover charge for dance), $5.00 for dance only (doors open after coronation) and are available at the Joseph Community Center, Sports Corral in Joseph, and Community Bank in Joseph, Enterprise, and Wallowa.

1st Tryouts for the 68th Chief Joseph Days Court complete

[caption id="attachment_1606" align="aligncenter" width="550" caption="From left to right: Bailey Dutcher, 2012 CJD Princess Emily Ketscher, Sarah Kunkle, 2013 CJD Queen Kylie Willis and Shai Allen"][/caption]   Five candidates for the Chief Joseph Days Rodeo Court competed during tryouts Sunday afternoon, September 23.  Sidney Cooney, Bailey Dutcher, Sarah...

2012 CJD Grand Parade Winners ~ Miss Rodeo Oregon wins Royalty category

[caption id="attachment_1499" align="aligncenter" width="550" caption="2012 Miss Rodeo Oregon, Shelby Ross, winner of the Royalty category"][/caption] Individual – 1st, #72, Lamb’s Mini-Horses. 2nd, #77, Nez Perce Riders; 3rd, #75, Melissa Kohler. Musical Group – 1st, #43, Main Street Cowboys; 2nd, Soul Renovation. Parade Theme – 1st, #74, MBS Miniatures;...

Shane Erickson wins All-around Cowboy ~ Official PRCA Results for 2012 CJD

All-around cowboy: Shane Erickson, $5,071, team roping and tie-down roping.

Bareback riding: 1. Steven Dent, 83 points on Growney Brothers’ Road Rash, $1,881; 2. Morgan Heaton, 80, $1,442; 3. Ryan Gray, 79, $1,066; 4. Josi Young, 77, $690; 5. Lee Lantz, 75, $439; 6. Bobby Mote, 74, $314; 7. Orlun McGuffin, 72, $251; 8. (tie) Ethan McNeill, Trenten Montero and Jason Havens, 70, $63 each.

VIDEO: Local cowboy George Kohlhepp wins 2012 CJD Ranch Bronc Riding

httpv://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcHIMfWWURs&list=UU8s-prA6ABR-JbmvJP1xpKg&index=1&feature=plcp In front of an almost completely sold out rodeo arena at the 67th Annual Chief Joseph Days Rodeo, local cowboy and police officer George Kohlhepp wins the Chief Joseph Days Ranch Bronc Riding, beating JD Brock, originally from Imnaha, and recent Ranch...

And the winners are… Your favorites from the 2012 CJD Junior Parade

Jaycee Campbell, granddaughter of Char Williams and daughter
of Amy and Bucky Campbell, a rodeo cowboy.
She won first place in the Riding division in the 2012 CJD Junior Parade

Small Fry 0-5 years of age

  1. Fishing For Fun – Marli Hays, Adde and Eva Moore, Bonnie Bright
  2. Firefighters and Farmers unite – Xavier Arroyo and Dawson Hale
  3. Olympic Bound – The Cunningham’s and The Matthews Girls